Hours for the year

Library opening hours 2016/2017. Please note some temporary changes to opening hours are in place following the earthquake - see the Library news updates for details.

Opening hours apply to all libraries - Architecture & Design, Commerce, Kelburn and Law.

Service points at all libraries are staffed from 8.00 am to 8.00 pm on weekdays, and from 10.00 am to 3:00 pm on weekends and public holidays. Please see our Service Standards page for more information on what services are available at these times.

All libraries

Monday - Friday  8:00am - midnight 

Saturday - Sunday  
Public holidays

10:00am - 10:00pm


Public Holidays

Christmas closedown Thursday 22 December 2016 8am - 5pm
Christmas/New Year Friday 23 December 2016 - Sunday
8 January 2017
Anniversary Day Monday 23 January 10am - 10pm
Waitangi Day Monday 6 February 10am - 10pm
Good Friday Friday 14 April CLOSED
Easter Saturday Saturday 15 April 10am - 10pm
Easter Sunday Sunday 16 April CLOSED
Easter Monday Monday 17 April 10am - 10pm
Easter Tuesday Tuesday 18 April (University holiday) 10am - 10pm
Anzac Day Tuesday 25 April 10am - 10pm
Queen's Birthday Monday 5 June 10am - 10pm
Labour Day Monday 23 October 10am - 10pm