Subject Librarian
This guide will help you find useful information for your essays and assignments in cultural anthropology. These resources are a good place to start but the library has many more resources for you to explore. If you need further help please contact your subject librarian.
Contents
Course Reserves
The first place to look. Here you will find study material recommended by your lecturer. You can search by course code, lecturer or department.
Go up to top
Books
- Library Catalogue
Search for books on your subject. When you find a book you want, click on subject links in the record or check out "Browse this shelf" at the bottom of the page.
- Google Books
If a book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. See also the option "Related books" for more on a similar topic.
Go up to top
Journal Articles
The following resources provide access to journal articles and books beyond your course readings and student notes. Some specialize in anthropology. To find out what best suits your needs, please contact your subject librarian.
- Anthropology Plus
Contains citations from articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in such fields as anthropology, archaeology, folklore and material culture from Anthropological Literature (Harvard University), or appearing in the Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute of the United Kingdom).
- AnthroSource
A collection of more than 250,000 articles from the American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters, bulletins and books.
- JSTOR
A multidisciplinary collection of articles. In many cases a time lag exists (usually between 3-5 years, sometimes longer) between the most current issue published and the content available in JSTOR
- Academic OneFile
A collection of over 60 million articles from over 11000 journal and magazine titles, many going back to the 1980s in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
- eHRAF World Cultures
An annually updated searchable cross-cultural collection containing information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The information is produced by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University and can be searchable and browsable by cultures and ethnic groups.
- ProQuest Central
A comprehensive multidisciplinary source of scholarly general and reference materials.
Go up to top
Video Resources
- Ethnographic Video Online
Covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the ethnographic filmmakers of the 20th century. Includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides and searchable transcripts.
Go up to top
Reference Resources
Dictionaries and encyclopedias provide good context and background for your assignments. These introduce thinkers, theories and ideas, provide definitions and commentary, etc. These can be searched for via the library catalogue. Some of them are held in the GN section of the reference collection (level 3), so you may wish to browse there. Below are links to online reference resources.
Go up to top
Websites
You may also find these websites useful.
Go up to top
Citing and Referencing
Check with your lecturer which referencing style you are expected to use for your course.
Go up to top
More help
- Study Hub
Tips and guidance on academic writing, study skills and more from the Student Learning Support Services.
- Video tutorials
Short online video tutorials designed to help you in your study and research. A recent version of Adobe Flash Player is required to view these.