Subject Librarian
Welcome to the Library's recommended resources for Chinese. This guide will help you find useful information for your
essays and assignments. These resources are a good place to start, but
this list is not exhaustive. If you need further help please contact
your subject librarian.
Contents
Books
- The Library Catalogue
The library catalogue should be your first choice when searching for books on any subject.
- Course Reserves
See what has been selected for your course. Search by lecturer, department and/or course code.
- Siku Quanshu
A collection of 3,461 books compiled in the Qing dynasty between 1773 and 1782. Note that this is a Chinese language database.
Technical requirements:
This database is available via a client programme only, and is compatible with Windows XP and above.
Using Internet Explorer, download the file in the link above - this includes an installation guide. Once installed, access the database by clicking on the programme icon, and then on IP login.
Not that Victoria University's licence allows for on user at a time only. This database is not available from off-campus, and it not available via the Student Computing Suites.
Please contact us through the Ask-a-Librarian service if you have any questions or need assistance.
Go up to top
Journal articles
Besides the resources listed below, there are
also specialist journal article databases available on specific subjects such as
history, politics, and society. To find out what best suits
your needs, please contact your subject librarian.
- China Academic Journals - English Interface
A database of journal articles published in mainland China, on a wide variety of subjects. This is a Chinese language database. Note: click on "IP Login" on the first page that comes up.
- MLA International Bibliography
Indexes material on literature, theatre, and film. Use the "Article Linker" icon in the database to see if the library has access to the full-text of the article.
- Journal Finder
If you have a reference to a journal article (journal title, year, page number, etc), then use "Journal Finder" to find the full-text of the article.
Go up to top
Reference Resources
Language Dictionaries
Subject dictionaries
Go up to top
Citing and Referencing