Subject Librarian
Welcome to the Library's recommended resources for German. This guide will help you find useful information for your
essays and assignments. These resources are a good place to start, but
this list is not exhaustive. If you need further help please contact
your subject librarian.
Contents
Books
- The Library Catalogue
The library catalogue should be your first choice when searching for books on any subject.
- Course Reserves
See what has been selected for your course. Search by lecturer, department and/or course code.
- Google Books
If you find something you like here, search in the library catalogue to see if we have it at Victoria
Go up to top
Journal articles
Besides the resources listed below, there are
also specialist journal article databases available on specific subjects such as
history, politics, and society. To find out what best suits
your needs, please contact your subject librarian.
- MLA International Bibliography
Indexes material on literature, theatre, and film. Use the "Article Linker" icon in the database to see if the library has access to the full-text of the article.
- Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
Free access database for material on German language and German literature. Note: this is a German language database.
- Google Scholar
Popular free-access database - "a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature."
- Journal Finder
If you have a reference to a journal article (journal title, year, page number, etc), then use "Journal Finder" to find the full-text of the article.
Go up to top
Reference Resources
Go up to top
Citing and Referencing