Subject Librarian
Your subject librarian can help you with reference queries and research help. You can contact David by phone or email, or see him at the Reference Desk, Level 2, Central Library.
Contents
Databases
General Databases
- Academic OneFile
A multidisciplinary source of scholarly, reference and general material in the fields of physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and the arts. Contains material published between 1980 and the present.
- Current Contents Connect
Current awareness information resource for journals and books
- Findarticles.com
A free-on-the-web database of hundreds of thousands of full-text articles from more than 300 magazines and journals, dating back to 1998. A very few of the publications, including Scientific American, only have abstracts. (Normal Internet usage charges will apply).
- General OneFile
A cross-discipline collection of over 7,000 scholarly journals, trade and consumer publications and news sources. The collection has a business and industry focus.
- Human rights
1980-1993 (CD-ROM - U.N. Documents Room)
- MasterFILE Premier
A cross-disciplinary collection of scholarly literature, reference works, maps, flags and original material covering a wide variety of fields.
- MLA International Bibliography
Language and literature.
- Oxford English Dictionary Online
Online access to entries in the most up to date version of the Oxford English Dictionary, providing definitions of over half a million English words as well as their history.
- ProQuest
A multidisciplinary source of scholarly, reference and general material in the fields of business, social science,health sciences, humanities and the arts. Select a subject area to start searching.
- Web of Knowledge
Science and technology research from seven separate online resources.
- WorldCat (Participatory Library Access)
Search for information about books in libraries worldwide.
New Zealand databases
- Index New Zealand
Index to journals and magazines published in New Zealand.
- New Zealand Index
Index to NZ trade and business publications.
- Newztext Magazines
Full text database of selected NZ magazines from between 1993 and 1997 to the present.
- Newztext Newspapers
Full text database of most Fairfax newspapers and the New Zealand Herald from 1995.
- NewztextPlus
All-in-one searching of the key news and business content of Newztext Magazines, Newztext Newspapers, Index New Zealand, local newswires and TNS regional and industry sector reports.
- Te Puna
Database of materials published worldwide, with information about holding libraries in NZ.
- Wakareo ā-ipurangi (on-line) Maori-English-Maori lexicon
Maori - English - Maori dictionary.
Social Sciences Databases
- Anthropology Plus
Contains citations from articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in such fields as anthropology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture held at Harvard University, or appearing in the Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute of the United Kingdom).
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS
Focuses on the four core subjects of anthropology, economics, politics and sociology; covers additional interdisciplinary research.
- Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to international literature on sociology, related subjects and behavioural sciences. Contains book reviews, articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers.